[in new window] [back] [close]
[introduction] [FAQ] [search] [index]

Your details
 
my details

You can add or change information about yourself on the Add or change your details form which you get by choosing on the menu in the top right of the page.

My email address has changed

No problem. Just put your new address in the 'email' box and press OK. We'll then send an email to the new address and leave a form on the screen telling you this. This confirms that it is in fact your email address (and that you typed it correctly). When you receive the email, click on the link in the message, or enter the token shown in the message in the form, and you're done.
Ensembling will then send messages (such as Watch reports) to you at your new address.
You will still be able to log in using your old email address as well as the new one, unless you specifically remove it after you have confirmed the new one (by going back into the form and ticking the box against your old login). Keeping the old address as an alter-ego also means if someone then assigns you to a project with that address, we'll still recognise it is you.

What does 'Your logins' mean?

Ensembling allows you to log in, and be recognised when added to projects, using different identities which all identify you. These may be one or more email addresses you might have accounts for and/or one or more identities provided through third-party login providers. The list shows you all the accounts you have used to log in with.
Your (main) email address is ultimately what uniquely identifies you and you can always log in with that address whether or not it is shown on the list (though if you've not supplied a password, we will have to check it really is you by sending you an email)

What's the information used for?

Your (main) email address uniquely identifies you to us. It is used:
Your name (and initials) are needed so that colleagues in a project know who is making comments, adding documents etc. Your name is not publicly visible or available to to anyone except the other people assigned to the same projects as you (and system administrators). It is helpful to your colleagues if you use your real name or a nickname by which they will know you.
When you make comments or add documents your initials are used to indicate came from you (very much like comments in Microsoft Word, for example). Initials save a bit of space on the screen. If you hover over these, your full name pops up. Your name is also shown on the on the form.
Your password is, obviously, used to confirm you are who you say you are when you log in. It is stored encrypted, so no no-one, not even the site administrator or system software people can tell you what it is. We need it twice on this form just to check you typed it correctly
See also privacy.

What is key/biometric login?

If you have something that works with Web Authentication (Webauthn) such as the Yubico 2 security key or a Google Trident key (available Autim 2018), or a comaptible fingerprint or other biometric reader, you can now log in to Ensembling using the key instead of a password.

Yubico 2 Security Key

To set this up, click the "add key/biometric login" button in this form, insert the key and/or press the button on it, or scan your fingerprint or whatever, and then Save.
Then to log in, click the key/biometric login button on the log in page (it will remember this for next time), enter your email address, and click OK. Then use the key as above. You can still use passwords or email or an invitiation to log in instead if you are on another computer or have forgotten your key.

I never logged in before. How come you already have some of my details?

We don't store your details until you accept an invitation to join a project for the first time, sent by a project manager. Your details are sent to us when you press the button to accept an invitaiton. Up to that time, all your information is stored only within the email, which is in your posession.

If you have more than one email address

You need to choose one which we can send emails to. In order to work on a project, you must use the same email address your project manager linked you to the project with, at least to start with. Once this main email address has been confirmed, you can change it.
However, if you have more than one address, you can log in with any of them. Once you have confirmed the address is yours, change the email address to your main one which will retain the other address as a secondary identity for you for logging in and being added to projects.

I've been assigned to another project with a different email address

If a project manager assigns you to a new project using different email addresses from your other projects you need to log in using the email address we don't recognise (or accept the invitiation if you were sent one) and then change the your email address to your primary one. This will consolidate all your projects under one main address. You can keep the old address for logging in or to recognise you if someone adds you to another project like this again in the future, or not, as you prefer, as shown above.

If you remove all your logins…

No problem. You can always log in with your main email address with or without your password.

Why will I be sent an email when I add or change my address?

Because your email address is used to give you access to projects, when you tell us what your email address is we have to be sure you are not forging someone else's address. To do that we send you an email which only the person who has access to that email account can see.

Time zones

Unless you change it, times are displayed in British time (that is, GMT - Greenwich Mean Time - in winter and BST - British Summer Time - in summer).
You can choose your timezone using the menu provided. If you aren't in the continental US or Europe (which are listed at the top of the menu) choose the principal city in your timezone from the menu - for example if you are in Osaka, choose Tokyo.
Changing the time zone causes all times to be displayed according to that time zone. So someone may have changed a comment at 1pm in the UK but you will see it as 8am if you set your timezone to US Eastern. This also applies to times in any emails or RSS feeds for any Watches. It also applies to deadlines, so if someone set a deadline for 8am GMT and you are in the US, sadly you would have to get up before 3am to respond.
One particular noteworthy case is when you have a Watch on a document with a deadline, the email or feed will notify you when the deadline is approaching. It will do so shortly after midnight on the day before and the day itself when a deadline is due. But that is midnight relative to the person who set the deadline. So if you are in a different timezone to them, you may get your "looming deadline" warning at other times of (your) day.

Staying logged in

You can avoid having to log in each time you visit the site by ticking the 'keep me logged in on this computer' box. Unticking this means you will need to log in again next time you visit.
If your provider regularly changes your computer IP address (or your network's external IP address if you use a router) this will not work for you, as that's partly what 'your computer' means.
If you don't use Ensembling for the number of days indicated on the form, you will need to log in again. The information about your login is stored in a cookie on your computer. Cookies are part of your browser, so if you delete your cookies or switch to a different browser, you will also need to log in again.
If you change your email address and your password at the same time, you will find 'keep me logged in on this computer' has been cancelled so unless you tick it again after verifying your email address, you will have to log in again the next time you visit.

* if we don't yet know your name, this will say

 
please identify yourself
instead.

Initial view: choose what you see when logging in

If you follow a link into Ensembling you are taken to the document, folder etc at that location.
However, if you just visit the Ensembling web site, you can choose whether to see the most recent document or folder that you visited, a list of the most recent documents you visited (not including folders), or the items (folders or documents) that you explicitly
 
.
(You can also see these and other collections of items using the
 
menu.)

Removing account

Use
 
to remove yourself completely or from a project.